Leader to Leader Home

Mission: To strengthen and inspire leaders of the social sector and their partners in business and government.

Books & Videos

The Community of the Future

by Frances Hesselbein, Marshall Goldsmith, Richard Beckhard, Richard F. Schubert

The Community of the Future, the third volume in the Drucker Foundation Future Series, gathers 30 authors in 26 chapters on the shape and focus of tomorrow's community. Opening with an introduction, "Civilizing the City," by Peter F. Drucker, and closing with an afterword by Nobel prize-winner Elie Wiesel, the book presents a constellation of wise, insightful leaders from business, academia, and nonprofit organizations.

Divided into six parts, the book contains:

Part I, "Trends Shaping the Evolution of Community" with chapters by Margaret Wheatley and Myron Kellner-Rogers; Lester C. Thurow; Rita Sussmuth; and Bob Buford.

Part II, "The Values of Community" features chapters by Stephen R. Covey; Claire L. Gaudiani; R. Roosevelt Thomas, Jr.; and Arun Gandhi.

Part III, "The Impact of New Communications Technology" features James L. Barksdale; Marshall Goldsmith; and Howard Rheingold.

Part IV, "Creating Communities in Organizations," contains chapters by Gifford Pinchot; James L. Heskett; Dave Ulrich; and Maria Livano Cattaui.

Part V, "Strengthening the Social Fabric," features chapters by Frances Hesselbein; Noel M. Tichy, Andrew R. McGill, and Lynda St. Clair; Bobby William Austin and Andrew J. Young; Hugh B. Price; Raul Yzaguirre; and Suzanne W. Morse.

Part VI, "Global Dimensions of Community," features Richard F. Schubert and Rick R. Little; Inonge Mbikusita-Lewanika; and Jaime A. Zobel de Ayala II.

The Community of the Future
Jossey-Bass , 1998
ISBN: 0787910066

Order Online


Be a Change Agent

Get Involved

Copyright 2012, Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Site Map
Designed and Powered by: