Leader to Leader Home

Mission: To strengthen and inspire leaders of the social sector and their partners in business and government.

Press Release

Contact: CPR for Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

Ihor Andruch 

201.641.1911 x50


Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute Five Prestigious NEXT Leaders of the Future

NEW YORK, September 19, 2012 - The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute, a 501(c)3 social sector organization, whose mission is to strengthen and inspire the leadership of the social sector and their partners in business and government, announced today that on October 16, 2012, five distinctive recipients will be presented The NEXT Leader of the Future Award at the annual Leader of the Future Award Dinner, at the Mutual of America Life Insurance Company headquarters, 320 Park Avenue, NY, NY.  A limited number of seats and sponsorship opportunities are still available for the event which attracts leaders from all sectors—business, government and the social sector. View Sponsorship Package and Online Registration.

Award recipients include:  

Jessica O. Matthews and Julia C. Silverman, co-founders of Uncharted Play, whose sustainable, evolving contributions aid children around the world; 

Akosua Tyus, who fights for social justice and equality as President of the Washington, DC Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); and

Shaila Ittycheria and Kane Sarhan, [E]nstitute co-founders, whose passions have turned what seemed to be a great challenge for Millennials into a great opportunity.  

“The year 2012 marks the inauguration of formally honoring the work of leaders age 30 and under at the Institute’s seventh annual Leader of the Future Award Dinner, which honors extraordinary leaders from every sector who have distinguished themselves as ethical leaders of integrity and character while serving the common good,” explains President, CEO and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient Frances Hesselbein. “I spend one third of my time with new generation leaders, who give me renewed hope and energy. Their story is one that provides other young leaders inspiration and encouragement and we are grateful for the privilege of telling it.” 

In addition to complimentary travel, lodging, and two seats at the Award Dinner, NEXT Award recipients receive Institute membership, including a professional development seminar and access to leadership mentoring with selected Institute Ambassadors. Support for the NEXT Award was made possible by the generous contribution of Ginger and Will Conway.

According to Joan Snyder Kuhl, Associate Director for Training and Development at Forest Laboratories, and the youngest member in the history of the Board of Governors for the Institute, “This is just one innovative way to connect our resources to emerging leaders and introduce them to seasoned thought leaders, as well as the values-based leadership model of Frances Hesselbein.” 

The NEXT awardees will join four distinctive Leader of the Future Award recipients: General Peter W. Chiarelli (U.S. Army, Ret.), One Mind for Research, Michael and Kass Lazerow, Buddy Media, Inc., and Commissioner Charles H. Ramsey, Philadelphia police Department.

Previous Leader of the Future Award honorees include Alan Mulally, President and CEO of the Ford Motor Company; Andrea Jung, Chairman and Chief Executive Office of Avon Products, Inc.; A.G. Lafley, former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Procter and Gamble Company; the Honorable Eric K. Shinseki, U.S. Army (Ret.), Secretary for Veterans Affairs; executive coach Marshall Goldsmith and Patricia Shinseki, Advisory Board Member to the White House Initiative, Joining Forces.

About The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute’s mission is to strengthen and inspire the leadership of the social sector and their partners in business and government. Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

# # #




Be A Change Agent

Get Involved

Copyright 2012, Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Site Map
Designed and Powered by: